Setting Up Shop at Church

Sunday, I went on a little day trip to Sedona and Flagstaff, AZ with my Wife Gennavieve, my best friend Kyle, and his girlfriend and my cousin Cherise. The day was a blast. Being a native Arizonan, it was the first time I’ve ever been where it’s actually snowing. I’ve been to snow… but I’ve never seen it actually fall. It was a beautiful sight.

null

Anyway, we decided to go The Chapel of the Holy Cross. The place is absolutely gorgeous. It’s been around for over half a century. It sits on top of a huge red rock. You can see in the picture how beautiful it is. While we were there, we visited a little gift shop below the Chapel. The stairs down into it are inside the sanctuary. Thats when Kyle and I realized how disgusting this place is.

They are selling Jesus in their Church and it absolutely makes me sick. I will never go back into that church while there’s a gift shop inside. If selling Jesus is so important, they could at least follow the Good book they claim to believe and make the shop outside of the sanctuary. Unfortunately the only thing blocking the chapel to the shop downstairs is a measly door. Do you know what Jesus did when the Pharisees were setting up shop in their church? Let’s take a look.

15 And they came to Jerusalem. And he entered the temple and began to drive out those who sold and those who bought in the temple, and he overturned the tables of the money-changers and the seats of those who sold pigeons. 16 And he would not allow anyone to carry anything through the temple. 17 And he was teaching them and saying to them, “Is it not written, ‘My house shall be called a house of prayer for all the nations’? But you have made it a den of robbers.” 18 And the chief priests and the scribes heard it and were seeking a way to destroy him, for they feared him, because all the crowd was astonished at his teaching. 19 And when evening came they went out of the city.

Mark 11:15-19, ESV

Even when you go to their website, it redirects to their store. 

Chapel of the Holy Cross

Don’t get caught up with a Robber’s Den. This is disgusting.

One Comment

  1. Posted February 12, 2009 at 3:03 AM | Permalink

    You Are Right My Husband. Great Blog! I Love You!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

