What’s In the Music?

In a world of regurgitated, fake, and studio-perfected music, it’s no wonder the music industry looks like a downward spiral. I guess it depends on where you look at it. If you look at pop music or, I suppose, mainstream music, it would reflect that commonly accepted view today. In my experience, however, I have found the opposite. I don’t listen to most mainstream music at all. In fact, I listen to metal, hardcore, and garage band types of genres that contain many sub genres that would make any pop music guru say, “what the heck?”

As I Lay Dying Live In Dortmund

As I Lay Dying Live In Dortmund

My type of music can include many, but not limited to, of these genres and sub-genres: death metal, metalcore, post-hardcore, emo, screamo, black metal, progressive metal, and so many more. What is it that leads people like me to fall in love with this kind of music? My family has been asking me the same question for a long time. And for the last 6 years, I haven’t been able to give them a solid answer. This is a person that used to love country music, punk rock, and classical (still love classical though). This is a person with 10 years of classical music training on the violin. What brings someone to the point of falling in love with music where 90% (completely guess this figure) of the vocals are incoherantly screamed? What is it in this underground ‘scene’ music that has almost an entire new generation of kid captivated? I think I have an answer.

Passion. Raw. Real. Alive. Eternal.

It’s these kind of elements that keep me coming back over and over again. The lyrics are alive and ever-moving, raw and passionate, powerful and profound. I don’t pretend to speak on behalf of all of these bands, because there are some pretty foul and crappy metal bands out there. But I will take it upon myself to speak for bands like Killswitch Engage, Living Sacrifice, Norma Jean, Sleeping Giant, As I lay Dying, Demon Hunter, Underoath, Emery, and Project 86 (just to name a few) when I say there is something utterly real and alive inside these people and their music. These aren’t the only bands though, there are thousands more. Even with an economy crisis like what’s happening now, these bands and record labels are still doing just fine. They have a loyal following and I unashamedly admit I’m included.

demonhunter-1

Demon Hunter

If you are someone who has always looked down at these bands, genres, or their music, I challenge you to look a little deeper. I’m not asking you to like it, because it was an acquired taste for me, I’m asking for your respect. If you’ve been a loyal follower of this music, now is the time to get into it and really look deeper. Look into the lyrics. Look into the people behind the music. Look into their hearts. Stay in tune with record labels like Mono vs. Stereo, Rise, Solid State, and Tooth and Nail. You won’t be steered wrong. Never have I found truer hearts than in this type of music. You either love it or hate it, but I hope we can all come to respect the people and their passion behind it.

2 Comments

  1. Mee Yai
    Posted February 23, 2009 at 3:03 AM | Permalink

    I thought I would wade in with a few comments on this post. I think you are right regarding the raw passion that these bands have. I would add a few more names to the list from the more extreme end of the spectrum: Azmaveth, Frost Like Ashes, Hilastherion, Monotheist, Dark Lay Still, Evroklidon, Usynlig Tumult, Renascent, Horde, Impending Doom and more.

    The reason you love it? Who knows? For me: direct, to the point and they have the guts to say what most of us are thinking. 🙂 It is nasty, but hey? It is done with style.

  2. Posted February 26, 2009 at 7:58 PM | Permalink

    Thanks for the reply! I agree!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

