Believe

This entry today is dedicated to Derek. I believe in you man.

How? That is the question that has been asked for ages. How did we get here? Did we evolve? Have we always been here? Were we created? What’s our purpose? Do we even have a purpose? I can only tell you what I believe. And that is this: we’ve been asking the wrong question. The human mind’s need to know how we got here is irrelevant. There’s no need for the “how” if we ask a different question: why?If we could simply and undeniably answer that one question… It would greatly eclipse are internal want to know how. It would diminish the need for how and transform need into want.

Why? The question why has many assumptions built into the word. It assumes there’s a reason. It assumes there’s a purpose. Huge difference.

How: Possibly no prupose. Cosmic accident?

Why: Purpose? Creation?

This is what I know, if you unpack the word why… You get with reason and purpose, you take it further and you get something more. Why assumes a creator because it assumes a reason.There are so many ways one can argue me wrong about this, and so many things they might find wrong about my beliefs. Thats fine. I simply just want to take you on the same train of thought that brought me to my knees at the Cross. If none of this made sense up to this point, just consider this:

Would you rather live your whole life asking how we got here, bewildered by the questions, and not knowing if you were meant for anything more than living and dying?

Or would you rather live at least part of your life asking why we’re here, possibly answering the question for yourself, and at least living for something more?

That “something more” for me is a strong foundation I found in Christ Jesus. He gave me a life worth living and principles to live by that are universally accepted, even in science. To believe or not believe in something, that is completely up to you. I urge you to find something worth your life, otherwise you may end up asking the wrong question the rest of your life. Live for more. A cause. A child. A lover. Or the highest of all, God.

I pray you find your way in your journey.

Inspired by Chad Johnson of Come and Live (Formerly Tooth and Nail Records).

3 Comments

  1. Posted March 5, 2009 at 9:09 PM | Permalink

    Something more indeed.
    And, I write often. I’d say everyday, God gives me some kind of inspiration or provokes my thoughts in some way it brings about something. A lot of times my emotions can be pretty fickle, calls for really good writing spells. The spirit definitely knows how to get me in the mood to create and write. Glad you see something in it,

  2. Posted March 7, 2009 at 10:20 PM | Permalink

    Dude, thank you so much. You are extremely encouraging man. Glad to have found your blog.

  3. Posted June 20, 2009 at 4:56 PM | Permalink

    this was a great post! will be forwarding and twittering!


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

