The Binding Fabric

Today I write to all of my fellow followers of Christ. We all know the trials and tribulations of the path we walk, some more than others. As God as our guide and our hope, we are able to move day to day with purpose. But let me ask this; what keeps your faith strong? or weak? What activities can we partake in to keep it healthy? I’m not a pastor, but there are a few things I have learned from my pastor that keeps me going.

First is a principle we must understand and accept. Pastor Ray (of Desert Breeze Community Church) always quotes author John Piper:

God is most glorified when we are most satisfied in Him. 

This is simply a rewording of what St. Iraneus said in the 2nd Century:

The Glory of God is man fully alive.

This was one of the most eye-opening facts I have ever heard. It literally changed my life. I have found this to be true so many times. Because even when we are in the worst spot in our lives, in a job we hate but can’t help, or a family member dying… we can still be satisfied in Him for His continual love. It’s our being satisfied in Him that glorifies Him. Simple, yet profound.

Second is also something very important I learned from Ray. We must practice the presence of God. What does that mean? Well, it’s actually a book by Brother Lawrence. I haven’t even read it yet, but Ray always explains this to us and how important this is. We practice the presence of God by flexing out mind muscles to how Good God is, how big He is, how amazing He is. It’s a way of worship. Though we have a finite mind, the more we practice this, the more we become enamored by Him. And therefore, we become satisfied in Him, and therefore worshipping and glorifying God.

Do you see where this is going? It’s a snowball effect that moves us forward. The combination of these two principles has helped me move my life forward. There is a purpose for every one of us, but it is our choice to embrace that and make our life extraordinary.

Update: I fixed a quote, pointed out by my wife. The first one is by Author John Piper.

I was also inspired and wanted to post these lyrics of the song Collide by Skillet. I encourage you to listen to the song as well. The lyrics do not give it justice.

We have fallen
We have fallen again tonight
Where do we go from here
When they’re tearing
down our lives?
When all they want is
When all they want is
For us to live in fear
How long can we hold on?
Can we hold on?
Hold on

There’s something deep inside
That keeps my faith alive
When all you can do
Is hide from the fear
That’s deep inside of you
Something, something, something
Something, something, something
To hold me close when I don’t know
There’s something deep inside
That keeps my faith alive

We are healing
But it’s killing us inside
Can we take a chance?
When faith and fear collide
We can make it
Step out and take it
We can’t live feeling so numb
How long can we hold on?
Can we hold on?
Hold on

There’s something deep inside
That keeps my faith alive
When all you can do
Is hide from the fear
That’s deep inside of you
Something, something, something
Something, something, something
To hold me close when I don’t know
There’s something deep inside
That keeps my faith alive [2x]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

