Hmmm… Already Forgiven?

“Monsters are real, and ghosts are real too… and sometimes they win.” -Stephen King

Even Stephen King realizes the evil that permeates us. There’s an inherent, almost instinctual, evil inside of us. It’s almost as if we are. It’s important to understand, however, that the true us, the true human being, was actual born of good. Our heart is good… but we betray ourselves. We betray ourselves and God through our sin.

Why do we act for ourselves anyway? We’re selfish. And believe me, I am the worst. Even when I try. Even when I have my heart in the right place, I always end up feeling seduced like Adam. I become extremely selfish. Sin is this constant spiritual battle that I have to live with the rest of my life.

The good news is, Jesus paid this debt to two thousand years ago. Then why do we, I mean I, feel so guilty? If I’m feeling guilty about my sin then it’s because I’m sorry. It’s because I know I screwed up. It’s because I know I’m guilty and I have to learn to leave it at the cross, repent, and accept that Jesus has already forgiven me.

Already forgiven.

2 Comments

  1. Gennavieve Rednour
    Posted April 15, 2009 at 4:41 PM | Permalink

    Your wife loves you. Selfish and all.

  2. Mee Yai
    Posted April 16, 2009 at 4:08 AM | Permalink

    Good call. Often we still feel guilty because we cannot get our heads around the idea that God would forgive us. The idea that our worst actions are covered and paid for by the Cross is so foreign of our concepts of justice and right that we cannot accept it even for ourselves often. The bottom line is that God’s love is such a magnitude that we have no real frame of reference for it. To truly appreciate in all its mind-blowing glory, we must have a revelation of it from God, in my opinion. Anything we can arrive at intellectual just drags it through the mud, I think. Anyway, my two cents’ worth on the issue.

    Forgiveness: done and dusted. Welcome to the new you.


Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

